Brasserie Les 3 Fourquets

A few weeks ago our friends and us went away on our annual weekend full of booze, food and games. Last year the games mostly happened inside since the weather turned out to be shit, but this year was significantly better. Unfortunately, for some reason my stomach had a car-sickness flashback to when I astually was car sick, about 20+ years ago.

This of course also happened on the day we visited Brasserie Les 3 Fourquets in Gouvy. It was about a 45 minute drive through the Ardennes’ back country with only a small stretch of highway in it, so I had a blast…

Anyway, the brewery is a micro brewery that produces beers called Lupulus (blonde and brune, plus some seasonals and commisioned brews). The location is in the small town of Gouvy and sits in a renovated farm house. A beautiful place with a great view of the hills, a nicely built tasting room which is going to be a regular bar in the near future. Those guys are really going somewhere.

The tour guide showed us around and made me think of Ted Benneke (for the Breaking Bad fans out there). His story was concise and he knew everything there was to know about the place. Statistics, history, future plans, how to brew, temperatures, everything.

Lupulus

The brewery was founded by Pierre Gobron, who also started La Chouffe in Achouffe. He probably got into money when that brewery was sold to Duvel Moortgat.

This facility produces 5300 hectoliters per year but they will be expanding soon. Some larger lagering tanks will be installed and their storage capacity will increase which will officially take them out of the micro brewery category. They will still be rather small though.

The wolf on the logo comes from Lupulus meaning ‘young humble wolf’ and since hops in latin are Humulus Lupulus the link was easily made.

Since I felt like crap I didn’t taste much, we also had to drive back and I wanted to keep everything in…

About Sjoerd de Haan-Kramer

I'm a web developer at Emakina. I'm highly interested in booze, with a focus on whisk(e)y. I like to listen to loads of music and read quite some books. I'm married to Anneke, have a daughter Ot, a son Moos and a cat called Kikker (which means Frog, in Dutch). I live in Krommenie, The Netherlands.
This entry was posted in - Beer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s